I attended my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary last January. It was one of the most memorable times of my adult life. It became a family reunion as well. I was able to reconnect with my older relatives and meet some additions to our big family.

After the celebration, we still had time to explore the local tourist sites in the area. We particularly visited a hidden white sand beach, locally called Puting buhangin.

IMG_0724
Puting Buhangin Beach(local name) is located at Purok Magsasaka, Barangay Mangingisda, Puerto Princesa City

I was so amazed that Palawan, despite being a high profile tourist destination in the country, this place was almost empty. There were some young people and local kids roaming around, taking selfies, and playing tags. Aside from them, there’s no tourist, foreigner in particular in sight, which also meant that we have the beach all to ourselves. Might as well enjoy it no matter how short our time was.

IMG_0723

We’re not prepared since this was just a spur of the moment. We’re not able to bring swimsuits but we still enjoyed our time spent in this beautiful and peaceful beach.

It was almost sundown when we finished our little escapade but it was all worth it.

More stories on my next blog about my journey back home…

Leave a comment